Lament (2018)

Piano Trio (Flute, Cello, Piano)

Duration: 7’

Premiered April 22, 2019

Program Notes:

Lament is based on the five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. These five stages structured the form and the process of composition. Lament is composed from motivic cells that create the melodic material with the harmonic content from the contrapuntal movement of these cells. Each cell contains a half-step that contributes harmonic friction throughout the work. The intervallic content of these cells continue to shrink throughout the first half of the piece, eventually to explode out into harmony. The work ends with a short coda reflecting acceptance.